Register for the 2019 CWK Workers’ Compensation Seminar

Click HERE to register for the event


Don’t miss the 2019 CWK Workers’ Compensation Seminar!  At this premier event, you’ll hear from our attorneys and featured guest speakers on new developments and strategies in navigating workers’ compensation litigation.  This year’s seminar will include presentations on surveillance tips and tricks, assessing compensability, sexual harassment claims and defending psychological injuries.


We are excited to announce that we will be joined by Dr. Leesa Scott-Morrow, Ph.D., J.D., L.P., an expert on evaluating individuals who present with histories of mental trauma, and physical injuries that are associated with significant psychological overlay.


We also welcome Mark Flaherty of Flaherty Consulting and Investigations, who provides his unparalleled investigative skills to obtain the best possible results in the most efficient possible manner.


This seminar is free and will include breakfast, lunch, cocktails and a chance at some great prizes!  Three CEU credits have been applied for this event.  


7:30-8:00am  Breakfast and Registration

8:00-8:15am  Opening Remarks: Jennifer Fitzgerald

8:15-8:35am  Caselaw Update: Tom Coleman, Emily Johnson

8:35-8:55am  Dykhoff: Where Are We Now?: Tom Kieselbach, Megan Oliver

8:55-9:15am  Compensable or Not? A Claim Review: Elizabeth Cox, Jim Waldhauser

9:15-9:45am Surveillance: When, Why and How to Do It: Mark Flaherty

9:45-10:00am  Break

10:00-10:20am  How to Make Rehabilitation Work: Whitney Teel, Craig Larsen

10:20-10:40am  Navigating PTSD Litigation: Mark Kleinschmidt, Mike Johnson

10:40-11:00am   #MeToo in Minnesota: Natalie Lund, Jennifer Fitzgerald

11:00-12:00pm Elements of a Psychological Injury: Dr. Leesa Scott-Morrow

12:00pm  Lunch, Cocktails and Prizes

NWCDN National Conference visits Minnesota

In September, the National Workers’ Compensation Defense Network (NWCDN) held it’s annual national conference and seminar in Minneapolis.  It was a great success.  Industry leaders and attorneys from 45 states attended.


The seminar was headlined by Bob Lund, CEO of SFM, Dr. Uzma Samadani, Dr. Richard Migliori, Dr. Teresa Bartlett, and Steve Perroots, Vice President of Marriott International.  Cousineau, Waldhauser, & Kieselbach was the host firm for the event.  Tom Kieselbach moderated the seminar.  CWK attorneys Mark Kleinschmidt and Natalie Lund participated in the substantive program.

CWK is once again selected as a Tier 1 law firm by US News and World Report/Best Law

Annually, US News and World Report/Best Law Firms honors the top law firms in the United States.  The selection process is rigorous.  Cousineau, Waldhauser, & Kieselbach has been selected as a Tier 1 law firm for Workers Compensation-Employers, 2019.  We are proud of the honor and thank our peers for selecting us.


Our firm has been selected every year as a Tier 1 law firm/practice group since the inception of the award.


CWK 2018 Super Lawyers & Rising Stars

We are pleased to announce that Jim Waldhauser, Tom Kieselbach, and Jennifer Fitzgerald have been selected as 2018 Super Lawyers.


Whitney Teel has been selected as a 2018 Rising Star.


The selection process for Super Lawyers has been patented (U.S. Pat. No. 8,412,564). The selection process involves three steps: creation of the candidate pool, evaluation of candidates by the research department and peer evaluation by practice area. Each candidate is evaluated on twelve indicators of peer recognition and professional achievement. Candidates cannot nominate themselves nor can they pay to be on a Super Lawyers’ list. For more information on Super Lawyers visit

Jim Waldhauser Selected 2019 Lawyer of the Year – Six CWK Attorneys Listed in “Best Lawyers in America”

Jim Waldhauser has been selected by his peers as the 2019 Minnesota Lawyer of the Year – Workers’ Compensation-Employers. This is a singular and well deserved honor.  Jim is a tremendous advocate who has contributed greatly to the profession.


We are also please to announce that six CWK attorneys have been selected for inclusion in “Best Lawyers in America“.


This is an extraordinary accomplishment given that CWK has 18 lawyers. We congratulate our attorneys and staff for their excellent work.

Tom Kieselbach Presents 2018 Class of Fellows at The College of Workers’ Compensation Lawyers

Tom Kieselbach presented the 2018 Class of Fellows at the College of Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Induction dinner in Nashville, Tennessee on March 3, 2018. Fifty lawyers and judges from twenty-two states were inducted into the College.  The College was created in 2007 with assistance from the American Bar Association. Individuals are selected for their excellence in the field and ethics.
Tom is a charter member of the College.  He served on the Board of Governors from March 2012 to March 2018, and as Chair of the Nomination Committee.  CWK Attorney Mark Kleinschmidt is also a Fellow in the College.

CWK’s Jennifer Fitzgerald will be presenting on Traumatic Brain Injuries

Jennifer Fitzgerald, will be presenting on Traumatic Brain Injuries (TBIs) on April 3, 2018 at Golden Valley Country Club. The seminar is organized by Anderson Insurance and Investment Agency (DBA Minnesota Comp Advisor). CWK is a sponsor. Doctor Nathaniel Nelson, a neuropsychologist will be the featured speaker.


The seminar is for professionals in risk management, insurance, human resources, loss control, accounting/financing and safety. If you are interested in attending, contact Mary Wells at  Click this link for a copy of the invitation Traumatic Brain Injuries Seminar-CE Invite


Jennifer is a Shareholder at CWK and is listed in “Best Lawyers in America.”

Attorney Megan Oliver joins CWK

We are please to announce the hiring of Megan Oliver as an associate in workers’ compensation.  Megan is a magna cum laude graduate of Benedictine College and a 2017 graduate of the University of St. Thomas School of Law.  While in school Megan participated in the Jessup International Moot Court competition and was a Senior Editor on the Journal Law and Public Policy.  She is currently the global initiatives director of the pro bono group International Dispute Resolution Research Network.